Are IQAir air purifiers worth it?
The brand allergists name most often, and the one whose flagship publishes no clean air delivery rate anywhere. We searched both registers live, found exactly one certified IQAir, and it is not the machine being recommended to you.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
Only if you are buying the warranty and the gas filtration rather than a verified clean-air figure. Searched live on 2026-10-23, IQAir is in no AHAM listing and has exactly one model in ENERGY STAR — the Atem E, certified at 369 CFM across 572 square feet — and that is the one model Amazon does not carry. The $1,199 HealthPro Plus XE that doctors recommend by name publishes no CADR in either register.
IQAir is the brand that gets named in allergist offices, in asthma forums and in the comments under every purifier video. It is also the most interesting case on this site, because unlike Dyson it has not argued against certification — it has done it once, done it well, and then not done it for anything you can buy.
How we judged it
Identically to every other machine here, which is the only fair way to assess a brand whose marketing is better funded than its rivals’. Certified smoke CADR against the room it is certified for; air delivered per watt; measured ozone and whether an ionizing stage is fitted; what the register calls the filter; and what a year costs. We own no IQAir, we have tested nothing, and we do not borrow other publishers’ test numbers — so where a figure does not exist, this page says that rather than filling the gap.
What we checked, and how you can repeat it
Both registers, in full, on the day this page was written.
AHAM’s VERIFIDE directory: 341 certified room air cleaners across 35 brands. No IQAir. That is not damning on its own — Coway, Alen and Dyson are absent too, and the first two certify through the other program.
EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaner database: 247 models. IQAir appears once, as the Atem E.
| Machine | Smoke CADR | Certified room | CFM per watt | Measured ozone | Filter class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IQAir Atem E | 369 CFM | 572 sq ft | 7.4 | 0.00 ppb | HEPA-Type |
| Honeywell InSight HPA4300 | 229 CFM | 354 sq ft | 7.4 | 0.00 ppb | HEPA |
| Alen BreatheSmart 75i | 370 CFM | 574 sq ft | 6.9 | 1.00 ppb | HEPA-Type |
| Coway Airmega 450 | 443 CFM | 687 sq ft | 6.7 | 0.00 ppb | HEPA-Type |
| Coway Airmega ProX | 577 CFM | 894 sq ft | 10.2 | 0.00 ppb | HEPA-Type |
| IQAir HealthPro Plus XE | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| IQAir Atem X | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| IQAir Atem Desk | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
The Atem E matters more than it looks
Read the certified row again, because it is the strongest argument in IQAir’s favor on this page. 369 CFM of smoke CADR across 572 certified square feet, a measured 0.00 ppb of ozone, no ion stage, and 7.4 CFM per watt — which is exactly the figure the Honeywell InSight HPA4300 posts, and the best efficiency on this site outside the Coway Airmega ProX and the Blueair Max range.
That result does two things. It proves the company can build a machine that certifies well, so the absence everywhere else is a decision rather than a limitation. And it gives a buyer a reference point: whatever the HealthPro Plus does, the one IQAir that has been measured sits in the same performance class as machines costing a fifth as much.
The caveat in the same row is the filter classification. ENERGY STAR records the Atem E’s filter as HEPA-Type, not HEPA — on a brand whose entire pitch is a filter 100 times finer than HEPA — what those two labels actually mean.
What IQAir publishes, in its own words
Taken from IQAir’s own US HealthPro Plus page, read 2026-10-23. The company is not hiding: it publishes a great deal. It simply publishes none of the figures that would let you compare the machine with another brand.
On the filter: HyperHEPA is “proven to capture ultrafine particles as small as 0.003 microns—100x smaller than standard HEPA filters”, and “each HyperHEPA filter is rigorously tested and certified by independent third-party laboratories” — the laboratories are not named and the efficiency percentage at that size is not stated on the page.
On coverage: the HealthPro Plus XE “covers up to 1,125 sq ft”, with a second answer elsewhere on the same page giving the series “up to 1,240 sq. ft.” Neither figure carries an air-change rate, which is what turns a square footage into a specification. The arithmetic shows why that matters: 1,125 square feet at one air change an hour needs about 150 CFM, and the same room at AHAM’s 4.8 air changes needs 720 CFM. Those two readings of the same claim are nearly five times apart, and nothing on the page says which one is meant — why a coverage claim without an air-change rate is not a specification.
On the rest: filters last “on average 12–24 months”; the warranty is “10-year limited” with a guarantee that every purifier “can be maintained and repaired for 25 years”. Airflow, noise in decibels and power consumption are not stated anywhere on the product page, and neither is a price for the replacement filter set.
One claim deserves its own sentence because of who reads this site. The page says IQAir purifiers are “clinically proven to reduce allergens and asthma triggers” without citing a study. We are not calling that false — we cannot assess what is not referenced. We note that this site holds itself to linking the paper whenever it says anything of that shape — what the asthma trials actually found.
The 0.003 micron number, read carefully
It is arithmetically true and rhetorically backward. HEPA’s definition is written at 0.3 microns because that is roughly the hardest particle size to catch — the point where the two capture mechanisms, interception of larger particles and diffusion of smaller ones, are both at their weakest. Efficiency rises on both sides of it. A filter that performs at 0.003 microns is doing the easier half of the job, not a job a hundred times harder.
This is not an IQAir-specific criticism — AirDoctor makes the same claim with the same number, and this site treats both the same way — the AirDoctor record, assessed the same way. The reason the claim keeps appearing is that it sounds like a performance figure while asking nothing about airflow, and airflow is half of clean air delivery — what CADR measures that a capture percentage cannot.
What IQAir does that the registers do not capture
A page that only prosecutes is not an assessment, and three things here are real.
The warranty is in a different category. Ten years limited, with a published commitment to parts and service for 25. Across the machines this site covers, one and two years are normal, and the only comparable promise is Alen’s “Forever Guarantee” — which Alen conditions on an active filter subscription, where IQAir’s ten years carries no such condition on its page. If you intend to own one machine for a decade, that is a real purchase and no certification program measures it.
The gas stage is genuine. The HealthPro Plus carries a V5-Cell gas and odor cartridge and the GC MultiGas is built around carbon in quantity. CADR measures particles only, so a machine’s gas handling is invisible to the register either way — and most consumer purifiers answer that question with a thin carbon mat nobody quantifies — what carbon actually does, and for how long.
It is built to be serviced. Separable filter stages with individual life monitoring, a replaceable pre-filter, and a chassis the company expects to still be running in twenty years. That is the opposite of the category’s normal trajectory, where a loaded filter and a $40 cartridge decide whether a machine stays in the room.
The column we have to leave blank
Every product card on this site prints a certified room size, a measured ozone figure and an air-per-watt number. For the IQAir machines a buyer can actually order, all three are blank — not zero, blank, because no third party has produced them and IQAir does not publish equivalents.
That is why there is no IQAir product card below. The card is built from a certified CADR, and inventing one to make a page tidier would be the exact failure this site exists to avoid. The same rule keeps Dyson off the cards — the Dyson case, which is argued rather than silent.
It also means we cannot size a room for a HealthPro Plus. Not “we think it is too small” — we cannot do the arithmetic at all, because the input does not exist. For a buyer whose whole problem is a specific room with a specific animal in it, that is a practical limitation, not a philosophical one.
What the money buys, in certified terms
Prices move and this site never types them into prose, so the live figures are in the picks table below. The structure of the comparison does not move, though: IQAir’s flagship sits at several times the price of machines whose performance is third-party verified, and the premium buys warranty, gas filtration and serviceability rather than any demonstrated advantage in clean air delivered per minute.
Two running costs are worth knowing before you commit. IQAir’s own 12-to-24-month filter guidance applies to a multi-stage set, and the company publishes no price for it on the product page — so the recurring half of the bill is unquotable, exactly as it is for Honeywell. And electricity is unknowable too, because no power figure is published for the machines on sale; for the units below it is certified and runs from about $34 to $71 a year — the full arithmetic.
Electricity costs on this page use 18.34¢ per kWh, the U.S. average residential price for June 2026 from the U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3. Your rate is on your bill and is probably not this one; multiply the kWh figure by your own rate and you have your number.
The verdict, one line per buyer
Bedroom or home office, allergy or asthma household: the Honeywell InSight HPA4300 posts the same 7.4 CFM per watt as IQAir’s only certified machine, with a HEPA-classified filter and a measured zero on ozone, for a fraction of the price. There is no reading of the registers where the IQAir is the better buy on verified performance.
You want the premium build and a long warranty: this is the honest case for IQAir, and the nearest certified cross-shop is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i — 574 certified square feet against the Atem E’s 572. Read the guarantee terms on both: IQAir’s ten years is unconditional on its own page, while Alen’s “Forever Guarantee” is conditioned on an active filter subscription — which we think belongs in the price comparison.
Your problem is gases rather than particles — solvents, a new build, a smoker next door: IQAir’s GC line is a serious answer, and so is the honest warning that no register measures gas performance for anyone, so you are buying on carbon mass and reputation — what we can and cannot say about VOCs.
You have the 1,125 square feet IQAir advertises: no single portable machine covers that at AHAM’s rate. The Coway Airmega ProX is the certified ceiling at 894 square feet, and past it the answer is two machines in two zones — why adding CADR fails.
Quick picks
Four machines whose performance a third party has measured, ranked on certified CADR against the room each is certified for. No IQAir appears here, for the reason given above.
| # | Product | Best for | Certified CADR | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best certified all-rounder Honeywell InSight HPA4300 229 certified CFM at 7.4 CFM per watt — the same efficiency as IQAir's one certified machine. | True HEPA on the lowest power draw | 229CFM smoke AHAM VERIFIDE | |
| 2 | ![]() If the warranty was the reason Alen BreatheSmart 75i 574 certified sq ft, within two of the Atem E, and a guarantee with conditions stated. | Very large rooms, long filter intervals | 370CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified | |
| 3 | ![]() Best big room with a measured zero Coway Airmega 450 443 certified CFM across 687 certified sq ft, 0.00 ppb, washable pre-filters. | Open-plan floors up to about 665 sq ft | 443CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified | |
| 4 | ![]() The ceiling of the certified category Coway Airmega ProX 577 certified CFM across 894 certified sq ft at 10.2 CFM per watt. | The largest room one machine can certifiably cover | 577CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
The certified alternatives
Honeywell InSight HPA4300
Honeywell · model HPA4300B

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
The efficiency winner among true-HEPA units at living-room size: 229 certified smoke CADR on 31 watts, zero measured ozone, and a filter the register classifies as HEPA rather than HEPA-Type.
229 smoke / 238 dust / 245 pollen CFM · 233 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 354 sq ft
- Energy / year
- 185 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $34
- Air per watt
- 7.4 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 31 W
- Noise
- Not published
- Measured ozone
- 0 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA
- AHAM rule, 300 sq ft
- Clears it (200 needed)
No ionizer — filtration only
Both registers classify this unit as fan-and-filter only.
229 certified smoke CADR across 354 certified square feet at 7.4 CFM per watt — the same efficiency figure as the Atem E, the only IQAir anyone has measured. Listed in both registers, filter recorded HEPA, 0.00 ppb measured ozone, no ion stage, about $34 a year to run. Our full review.
The honest con: Honeywell publishes no noise figure, no filter price and no replacement interval, so the recurring cost is as unquotable as IQAir’s — and the build is ordinary plastic with a two-year warranty, not a machine anyone expects to service in 2046.
Alen BreatheSmart 75i
Alen · model BreatheSmart 75i

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
The highest certified smoke CADR here at 370, a genuinely long filter life, and an ionizer you can switch off. Alen publishes its ozone figure both ways, which almost nobody does.
370 smoke / 351 dust / 431 pollen CFM · 360 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 574 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 2,800 sq ft every hour
- Energy / year
- 304 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $56
- Air per watt
- 6.9 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 55 W
- Noise
- 25-51 dBA
- Measured ozone
- 1 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA-Type
- AHAM rule, 500 sq ft
- Clears it (334 needed)
Ionizer — can be switched off
Alen publishes '0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged'. ENERGY STAR measures 1 ppb.
The closest thing to an IQAir cross-shop that carries certified numbers: 370 certified CFM across 574 certified square feet — within two square feet of the Atem E — at 6.9 CFM per watt, with 25-51 dBA published, a 12-month filter interval and the longest guarantee of any machine here. Our full review.
The honest con: ENERGY STAR measures 1.00 ppb rather than zero and records an ionizing stage, the filter is classified HEPA-Type, and Alen’s “Forever Guarantee” is conditioned on an active filter subscription — a different product from an unconditional one, and the reason this is not a straight warranty win over IQAir.
Coway Airmega 450
Coway · model Airmega 450 (AP-2524B)

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
687 certified square feet with zero measured ozone and a vacuumable pre-filter. The step between the Airmega 400 and the ProX, and the cheapest certified way past 600 square feet.
443 smoke / 445 dust / 450 pollen CFM · 444 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 687 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 3,285 sq ft in 60 minutes
- Energy / year
- 389 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $71
- Air per watt
- 6.7 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 72 W
- Noise
- 23.6-57.7 dB(A)
- Measured ozone
- 0 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA-Type
- AHAM rule, 600 sq ft
- Clears it (400 needed)
No ionizer — filtration only
ENERGY STAR classifies this unit 'Fan and Filter' and measures 0.00 ppb ozone. Coway's specification lists no ionizing stage.
443 certified CFM across 687 certified square feet with 0.00 ppb measured, no ion stage, washable pre-filters and 23.6-57.7 dB(A) published — the certified machine for the room size IQAir’s flagship is sold for. Our full review.
The honest con: 389 kWh a year — $71 — is the second-highest electricity bill on this site, Coway publishes a filter interval but no price, and at nearly 25 pounds it is not a machine you move between rooms.
Coway Airmega ProX
Coway · model Airmega ProX (AP-3522F)

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.
The largest certified coverage on this site at 894 square feet, and the highest air-per-watt figure we have recorded at 10.2 CFM per watt — with a measured zero on ozone.
577 smoke / 586 dust / 450 pollen CFM · 581 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 894 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 4,253 sq ft in 60 minutes
- Energy / year
- 335 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $61
- Air per watt
- 10.2 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 65 W
- Noise
- 23-46 dB(A)
- Measured ozone
- 0 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA-Type
- AHAM rule, 800 sq ft
- Clears it (534 needed)
No ionizer — filtration only
ENERGY STAR classifies this unit 'Fan and Filter' and measures 0.00 ppb ozone. Coway's specification lists no ionizing stage.
577 certified CFM across 894 certified square feet at 10.2 CFM per watt — the largest and the most efficient machine this site covers, 0.00 ppb measured, washable pre-filters, 23-46 dB(A). Our full review.
The honest con: its pollen CADR of 450 is below its smoke figure, which is the wrong way round and matters in pollen season; it is the most expensive certified machine here; and at 50 pounds it is furniture.
If you buy the IQAir anyway
It is a reasonable thing to do, and nothing on this page says otherwise — it says the figure that would let you compare it does not exist. Three things make the purchase a better one.
Buy it for a room you can state. Without a CADR you cannot size it, so err small: put it in the bedroom rather than trusting a 1,125 square foot claim across an open floor. A machine in the room where somebody sleeps is EPA’s own advice and it removes most of the sizing risk.
Budget the filters before you buy. A 12-to-24-month multi-stage set at this price point is a recurring cost worth knowing; ask IQAir for the current set price and divide by the interval before you commit.
Use the warranty you paid for. The 10-year term and the 25-year service commitment are the clearest value in the purchase. Register the machine, keep the receipt, and treat it as a decade-long appliance rather than a two-season one.
Common questions
Is IQAir AHAM certified?
Does IQAir publish a CADR?
Is HyperHEPA better than HEPA?
Is the IQAir HealthPro Plus worth $1,199?
What should I buy instead?
Sources
- ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database
- AHAM VERIFIDE directory of certified room air cleaners
- IQAir — HealthPro Plus product page (claims, coverage, filter life, warranty)
- AHAM — air filtration standards and the two-thirds rule
- EPA — Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- AllergiesAre AirDoctor air purifiers worth it?ENERGY STAR certifies the AD1500 at 264 sq ft, 170 CFM, 3.00 ppb and a HEPA-Type filter, for $399. The register entries, against machines costing half as much.
- AllergiesThe Best Air Purifiers for AllergiesThe flagship roundup: certified CADR, measured ozone, computed running cost, and the coverage claims checked against the registers.
- CADR & costTrue HEPA vs HEPA-TypeWhy 'True HEPA' certifies nothing, and which units the registers actually classify as HEPA.
- AllergiesThe Best Air Purifiers for HomeThe certified pick at each room size, because the honest answer to the generic question depends on the room you put it in.
- AllergiesDo air purifiers help with asthma?The evidence reported as written, and why ionizer status matters more here than CADR.