The Best Air Purifiers for VOCs and Formaldehyde
New furniture, new flooring, a newly built house: this is the one air-quality problem where the certified number on the box tells you almost nothing.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Buy carbon, and buy it knowing the limits. No certification measures VOC removal, no manufacturer publishes how much carbon is in the cartridge, and ventilation removes off-gassed formaldehyde faster than any portable machine. Of the machines we cover, the Coway Airmega 400 and the Alen BreatheSmart 75i are the two that document a carbon stage and publish what replacing it costs — which for a consumable is the number that matters.
This page exists because the honest answer is unusually unsatisfying, and every other version of it we could find is more confident than the evidence allows.
Why this problem is different
Everything else this site ranks is a particle. Dander, pollen, dust, smoke particulate — all measured by the same certified test, all comparable between machines. VOCs are not particles. Formaldehyde, the one people ask about most, is a small gas molecule released by pressed-wood furniture, cabinetry, laminate flooring, adhesives and some fabrics.
A HEPA filter of any grade removes exactly none of it. Only adsorption media — activated carbon, sometimes with an additive — takes gases out of the air, and carbon has a finite capacity: it fills, and when it is full it stops. Warm rooms can even drive previously adsorbed compounds back off the media.
So the buying question is not “which machine has the highest CADR”. It is “how much carbon am I getting, and what does replacing it cost” — and the first half of that question has no published answer anywhere in this category.
The number nobody prints
We checked every manufacturer page and filter listing for the machines on this site. Not one publishes the mass of activated carbon in the cartridge. Several name the stage — Coway’s Max2 is “activated carbon + HEPA”, Alen sells a dedicated Odor filter, LEVOIT lists a carbon layer in its three-stage set, Winix and Blueair describe carbon in some models — and none quantifies it.
No register fills the gap either. AHAM and ENERGY STAR both test particles. There is no certified VOC figure to compare, which means any ranking claiming to order machines by VOC performance is ordering them by something other than measurement — how carbon works, and how fast it loads.
The intervention that beats all of them
Open the windows. Emission rates fall over time, and dilution with outdoor air removes gases at a rate no tabletop machine approaches. EPA’s own guidance on indoor air puts source control first and ventilation second, with air cleaning as the third step — and for off-gassing specifically, the source is a piece of furniture you can sometimes air out in a garage before it comes inside.
Warmth accelerates the process: a closed, heated room off-gasses faster, which is unpleasant to sit in but shortens the total period. The practical plan for a new build or a renovation is ventilate aggressively, run carbon continuously as a supplement, and accept that the machine is managing a decaying problem rather than solving it.
How we judged
Documented activated carbon, named by the manufacturer — not a carbon-dusted pre-filter mesh.
A published replacement schedule and price where it exists, because a carbon stage with no stated life is a running cost nobody will quote you.
Certified particle performance, because the rooms that have a VOC problem usually have a dust problem too — new construction generates drywall and sawdust; a renovation leaves both.
Measured ozone, as on every page here. It matters more than usual in this context: several machines marketed for “odor and chemicals” use ionizing or plasma stages, and ozone reacting with VOCs can generate formaldehyde rather than remove it. That is a mechanism worth avoiding entirely — why we weight the ozone figure so heavily.
| Machine | Carbon stage | Replacement schedule | Certified smoke CADR | Ozone |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coway Airmega 400 | Activated carbon in the Max2 set | $129 a set, 12 months | 376 CFM | 0.00 ppb |
| Alen BreatheSmart 75i | Dedicated Odor filter option | $139, 7-10 months | 370 CFM | 1 ppb |
| LEVOIT Core 400S | Carbon layer in the 3-stage set | $49.99, interval not published | 231 CFM | 0.00 ppb |
| Winix C710 | Activated carbon | Neither published | 248 CFM | 1 ppb |
| Honeywell InSight HPA4300 | Activated carbon layer, quantity not stated | Neither published | 229 CFM | 0.00 ppb |
Electricity costs on this page use 18.34¢ per kWh, the U.S. average residential price for June 2026 from the U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3. Your rate is on your bill and is probably not this one; multiply the kWh figure by your own rate and you have your number.
The other half of a new-build problem
Rooms with an off-gassing problem usually have a particle problem at the same time. Drywall sanding, sawdust, insulation fibers and the general grit of a renovation are all particles — which means the certified number that says nothing about formaldehyde is exactly the right number for the rest of it.
Size that half normally: AHAM’s two-thirds rule asks for 200 CFM in a 300 square-foot room and 334 in a 500. During active work, run the machine continuously and expect to clean or replace the pre-filter far sooner than the manual suggests — construction dust loads a pre-filter in days, not months. A machine with a washable pre-filter earns its place here for the same reason it does in a house with animals.
One sequencing note. Running a purifier during heavy sanding mostly clogs filters; the machine earns its money after the dust-making stops, while fine particulate is still settling out of the air, and then keeps working on the gas-phase problem for months afterward.
Quick picks
Ranked on documented carbon, published replacement cost and certified particle performance.
| # | Product | Best for | Certified CADR | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best for off-gassing Coway Airmega 400 Carbon in the Max2 set, with a published price and interval for replacing it. | Large rooms, verified Coway | 376CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified | |
| 2 | ![]() Most carbon you can specify Alen BreatheSmart 75i A dedicated Odor filter option Alen prices and dates, 370 certified CFM. | Very large rooms, long filter intervals | 370CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified | |
| 3 | ![]() Best value with real carbon LEVOIT Core 400S 231 certified CFM, 0.00 ppb, a carbon layer and a published filter price. | Popular pick, mid-size rooms | 231CFM smoke ENERGY STAR verified |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The picks
Coway Airmega 400
Coway · model Airmega 400 (AP-2015F)

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The Coway that is actually in a certification register: 376 certified smoke CADR, 583 square feet, zero measured ozone. If you want a Coway, this is the one with third-party numbers.
376 smoke / 384 dust / 409 pollen CFM · 380 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 583 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 3,120 sq ft in 60 minutes
- Energy / year
- 366 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $67
- Air per watt
- 6.1 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 66 W
- Noise
- 22-52 dB(A)
- Measured ozone
- 0 ppb
- Filter class
- Composite Filter
- AHAM rule, 500 sq ft
- Clears it (334 needed)
No ionizer — filtration only
ENERGY STAR classifies this unit 'Fan and Filter', 0.00 ppb measured ozone.
The only machine here that documents activated carbon and publishes both a price and an interval for replacing it: $129 a set on a stated twelve-month schedule, which works out to $129 a year. It also certifies 376 CFM across 583 square feet for the construction dust that usually accompanies the smell, with 0.00 ppb measured and washable pre-filters. Our full review.
The honest con: Coway does not state how much carbon is in the cartridge, its filters cost more per year than its electricity, and in a heavy off-gassing period that twelve-month interval is optimistic — carbon loads faster than particle media.
Alen BreatheSmart 75i
Alen · model BreatheSmart 75i

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The highest certified smoke CADR here at 370, a genuinely long filter life, and an ionizer you can switch off. Alen publishes its ozone figure both ways, which almost nobody does.
370 smoke / 351 dust / 431 pollen CFM · 360 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 574 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 2,800 sq ft every hour
- Energy / year
- 304 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $56
- Air per watt
- 6.9 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 55 W
- Noise
- 25-51 dBA
- Measured ozone
- 1 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA-Type
- AHAM rule, 500 sq ft
- Clears it (334 needed)
Ionizer — can be switched off
Alen publishes '0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged'. ENERGY STAR measures 1 ppb.
The only machine we cover that lets you choose a carbon-weighted filter instead of accepting one cartridge: Alen sells a dedicated Odor variant, publishes 7-10 months for it and lists it at $139. 370 certified smoke CADR across 574 certified square feet. The full record on it.
The honest con: the most expensive machine on this site to buy and to re-filter, and it measures 1 ppb rather than zero because of an ionizer you have to remember to switch off — which in a room full of VOCs is exactly the stage you do not want running.
LEVOIT Core 400S
LEVOIT · model Core 400S (LAP-C401S)

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The best-selling unit in the category, and a clean example of the coverage gap: ENERGY STAR certifies it for 358 square feet while the box advertises 1,718.
231 smoke / 240 dust / 259 pollen CFM · 236 PM2.5
- Certified room size
- 358 sq ft
- Advertised coverage
- 1,718 sq ft at 1 air change per hour
- Energy / year
- 237 kWh
- Electricity / year
- $43
- Air per watt
- 5.8 CFM/W
- Power draw
- 38 W
- Noise
- 22-52 dB
- Measured ozone
- 0 ppb
- Filter class
- HEPA-Type
- AHAM rule, 350 sq ft
- Short (234 needed)
No ionizer — filtration only
ENERGY STAR classifies this unit 'Fan and Filter' and measures 0.00 ppb ozone. LEVOIT markets it as ozone free.
231 certified smoke CADR across 358 certified square feet with 0.00 ppb measured, no ion stage, a carbon layer in the three-stage cartridge and a published $49.99 replacement price. For a single newly furnished bedroom this is the sensible spend.
The honest con: LEVOIT publishes no replacement interval, so the annual carbon cost cannot be computed — and in an off-gassing room the carbon is the stage that determines when the cartridge is spent.
What to avoid for this problem specifically
Anything that generates ozone deliberately. Ozone reacts with some VOCs — notably terpenes from cleaning products and air fresheners — and those reactions can produce formaldehyde and ultrafine particles. A machine that adds ozone to a room full of off-gassing materials is running the wrong chemistry — what ozone generators actually do.
Any purifier sold on a VOC percentage. If a listing claims a removal rate for formaldehyde, ask which standard produced it. There is no consumer certification behind those numbers in the U.S. market, and this site will not repeat one.
A HEPA-only machine, if gases are the whole complaint. It will do a fine job on the dust and nothing at all on the smell.
Common questions
Do air purifiers remove VOCs and formaldehyde?
What CADR do I need for VOCs?
How long does off-gassing last in a new house?
Which air purifier has the most carbon?
Sources
- EPA — Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home
- ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database
- AHAM VERIFIDE directory of certified room air cleaners
- AHAM — air filtration standards and the two-thirds rule
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- Pet hair & odorActivated carbon and pet odorWhy 'includes activated carbon' means nothing without a weight, and how to read the claim.
- AllergiesThe Best Air Purifiers for Cigarette SmokeCertified smoke CADR handles the particles; documented activated carbon is the only thing that touches the smell, and it saturates. Ranked on both.
- CADR & costWhat CADR actually meansThe cornerstone explainer: what CADR measures, why it resists gaming, and certified versus claimed.